Disclaimer: Beware of emails from WFO officers asking for financial assistance or posing as being stranded in situations that require urgent help. These are phishing/hacking activities. WFO officers will never email you for any assistance of this kind.

Download the WFO
Mobile Application

Get it on the Apple App Store
Get it on Google Play

T M Graber Outstanding Article Award

The T. M. Graber Outstanding Article Award, established by the WFO Executive Committee on May 3, 2019, is an annual award created to recognize the principle author and co-authors (if any) of the original article judged to be the most outstanding article published in the JWFO in the preceding year.

The award is named in honor of Dr. T. M. Graber, who was the first editor of the WFO’s first official journal, the World Journal of Orthodontics (WJO), in recognition of his life-long contributions to the profession of orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics through his endeavors in academics and research. 


The purpose of this award is:

  • To increase WFO member awareness and appreciation for the contributions that orthodontic researchers and authors make to our profession.
  • To encourage members of the orthodontic profession to contribute to the body of orthodontic knowledge by publishing original basic science or clinical treatment articles in the Journal of the World Federation of Orthodontists (JWFO).
  • To recognize researchers who demonstrate exceptional skills in communicating their scientific findings to the public, going above and beyond the publication of their academic advances.
  • To encourage and promote high-quality research in the field of orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics and allied sciences.
  • All original research articles and case series published in the JWFO during the calendar year prior to the presentation of the award are automatically considered for this award; no formal nomination is required.
  • To be eligible to receive the WFO’s T. M. Graber Outstanding Article Published in the JWFO, an author must be a Fellow, Academic, Honorary or Retired Member of the WFO. Student Members are not eligible for nomination.
  • Articles authored by members of the International Editorial Review Board are eligible for consideration of this award.
  • Articles authored by the JWFO Editor-in-Chief, members of the JWFO Executive Committee, and all Associate Editors of the JWFO are not eligible for consideration of this award.
General Award Policy
  • The articles will be judged on their impact to the profession, relevance, originality, methodology, and presentation of results and discussion. 
  • Award winners from the preceding five years will have their names, photographs, affiliations and their winning article title presented or otherwise recognized at the opening ceremonies of the respective International Orthodontic Congress.  

2019  Biphasic sutural response is key to palatal expansion;

Mani Alikhani, Sarah Alansari, Mohammed M. Al Jearah, Niraj Gadhavi,
Mohammad A. Hamidaddin, Fadwah A. Shembesh, Chinapa Sangsuwon,
Jeanne M. Nervina, Cristina C. Teixeira